(Institute of Fine Arts)

Kala Bhavana is well-known as a distinguished centre for Visual Art practice and research in India. This institute which gave shape to the culture specific modernism initiated by Rabindranath Tagore and carried forward by the commitment and wisdom of Nandalal Bose, Benodebehari Mukhopadhyay, Ramkinkar Baij and their contemporaries, has richly contributed in giving a valid direction to individual art activity in contemporary social space. More recently several eminent artists and scholars attached to Kala Bhavana have been keeping the tradition alive by their personal visual experience, fresh exposure and openness for experiment.

Its academic programme is broad based, it introduces the students to a vast repertoire of techniques and art forms backed by the knowledge of history of art. The studio practice, lectures, discussions and exhibitions keep the art atmosphere of the faculty alive, where the students get ample opportunity to sharpen their individual sensibilities and future prospects.


Academic Structure

Kala Bhavana has at present six major streams of studies: 

Subjects Taught

·         Painting

·         Graphic Art (Print-making)

·         Design (Ceramic & glass)

·         Design (Textile)

·         History of Art

·         Sculpture


Courses Offered


·         Certificate

·         Diploma

·         B.F.A. (Honours)

·         M.F.A.

·         Advanced Diploma

·         Foreign Casual Course

·         Casual  Course for Indian

·         Bridge Course in History of art Art



 11/03/2020 - Dept. of Sculpture - Even Semester Time table / Class Routine 


Contact:  Adhyaksha (Principal), Kala-Bhavana, Visva-Bharati

PO. Santiniketan -731 235, District - Birbhum, West Bengal, India

Telephone: +91 3463 262 751 to 262 756 (6 lines), Extension – 313 / 374

Email: kalabhavana.mail@gmail.com



Ceramics and Glass Design

Textile Design

Graphic Art (Printmaking)

History of Art





Prof. Jogen Choudhury, Emeritus Professor

Faculty list



Prof.  Sanjoy Kumar Mallik


Mrs Bhavna Khajuria Basumatary

Mr Ambarish Nandan